Skip to page body Home About Whitehorse City Council Departments Residents Visitors Business I Want To...
Fritz Mueller Photo 8

Photo by Fritz Mueller

The Water & Waste Department is responsible for the maintenance of the sewer system, the storm sewer system, lift stations, and the sewage lagoons.

The sewerage system consists of:

  • one main lagoon system which serves Porter Creek, Hillcrest, Takhini, Downtown, and Riverdale
  • one minor lagoon system that serves Crestview
  • four major lift stations and a flush tank
  • five minor lift stations

Since the lagoon system was constructed it has operated as a closed system similar to a wetland treatment system. Effluent from the primary cells flows into the second secondary cell where it dissipates through evaporation and infiltration. 

Last updated: 19/12/2014 3:19:07 PM